The Old Mike… and the New Mike

 

 

Where were you born or from and how long have you been in the DFW area?

I was born in Illinois and moved to Dallas in 1990.

 

What brought you to the DFW area?  What part of town do you currently live in?

I live in Murphy Texas

When you are not cycling, how do you earn your living?  I work as Software License Manager at Ericsson

What is the best thing about your job?  I learn something new everyday

How long have you been a member of the PBA?  Less than a year

How did you get interested in cycling, group cycling, cycling with the PBA  

I began cycling to lose weight.

Are you a member of any other bike clubs?    No

How many rides and how many miles per year do you cycle?   3000 miles this year.

Tell us two or three interesting things most people don’t know about you.  In less than 2 years, I am ½ the man I used to be.

Describe your first bikeDo you participate in any other sportsHave you, or do you do any bicycle racing?  My first bike was a hybrid, my second was a flat bar road bike, and my current bike is a road bike. When not riding I lift weights.

What is your favorite ride ever or best ever riding experience?  I love to ride in the heat.

What is your most embarrassing cycling moment?  Being clipped in and falling over in front of my house.

If you could go on one more bike ride, what ride would it be?  A ride through the desert.

What is your favorite book, movie, or play?  Goodfellas

 

What other hobbies or interests are you involved in when not riding your bike? Do you have any pets?  If so, describe.  Physical fitness

What else would you like to tell us about yourself? 

I had weight loss surgery Dec. 15 2009. I lost a total of 168 pounds. The first 90 came off very easy, and then it stopped. Cycling burned the rest of it off.